Skip to content

In-law family pressure

June 26, 2013

My soon-to-be-ex’s family is having a big family reunion this summer. In four weeks, on fact.

Since hubby doesn’t have overnights and it is about 6 hours away, this event would not be allowed by our current parenting plan. They asked the children’s attorney and he feels that this event is “not conducive to adequate supervision” of him with the children.

Since they didn’t get what they want from the courts (and they didn’t take up my offer to bring the children to the event), they are now asking other family member to call me and basically pressure me into letting the kids (or at least my older daughter) go to the reunion.

What I find more fascinating is that they aren’t making any promises or offering anything different (like someone else volunteering to supervise). Nope. They just feel like I should give in. And if they ask enough (and talk about how my daughter will miss out, insinuating that I would be a bad mother if I didn’t allow this) that I will give up and give them want that want.

I guess I might feel better about it if they took the supervision seriously. But hubby continues to drive the kids unsupervised. God only knows if he is supervised the rest of the time. Remember this is the man who had seriously angry (scary)outbursts just 3 1/2 weeks ago…. On a day where he was having parenting time and “supervised”.

In reflection, it is pretty insulting. And it makes their opinion that the supervision is unnecessary legal bullcrap pretty clear.

Do I attempt to raise this concern? Do I negotiate and ask to someone to take responsibility for my daughter?

Or do I just say No?

Perplexed….
D

Ps: linking up with Shell Pour you hear out… Hoping for some advice!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna permalink
    June 26, 2013 7:00 pm

    If you already have the feeling that they don’t take the need for supervision seriously, even someone saying they will take responsibility for your child might not mean and supervision. It sounds to me like your instinct is to just say no, I would listen to your instinct and protect your kids.
    I have to say I’m impressed by the strength you have to do just that.

  2. June 27, 2013 12:20 am

    I would just flat out say no. It doesn’t sound like anyone is willing to give you any sort of reassurances. It’s not worth it.

Leave a comment