Skip to content

Well… I’m divorced.

July 6, 2013

Got a thick envelope in the mail today. It was the official papers with a note saying that the court accepted them and I was officially divorced as of last Wednesday.

What a weird system. I can’t think of anything else important in life where you find out after the fact like that… Well, the court system is not a recommended way to get divorced, so as my daughter’s camp says “you get what you get” to which the girls last summer modified to “and you don’t freak out about it” (Since there was a LOT of freaking out last summer….oh… I wonder why? 😉 but I digress… )

It took exactly 1 year and two days from the day I asked my husband to move out until this. 5 lawyers. 3 judges. I don’t remember how many trips to the court house. And I don’t want to know how much $$$$.

But no trial. I didn’t clean up, actually I gave away quite a bit financially to get this settled (“Monied spouse” and all that) but the kids are more important than money. I can always earn more money. They are safe and happy and I did my best to ensure that they stay that way.

The odd thing is that I was just thinking yesterday if it was time to start a different blog… Maybe one more parenting focused or craft focused (or both)… Odd. Very odd. But as a divorced person it seems inappropriate to blog under the title Struggling for happily ever after.

Besides I want to share my blog with friends and I haven’t been able to. Partially because this is anonymous and with all the legal stuff I wanted it to stay that way. But also because so many of my posts are really personal and raw… It would be too much to share with a new IRL friend or acquaintance. Total TMI. {i can just picture it: “hi, normal happily married person…wow, you are a blogger about your knitting and homeschooling? So cool! I’m a blogger too! Here’s a link to my blog…. “. Next time I see them they edge away and refuse eye contact… Lol!}

I haven’t decided… But I think I will start one and decide if I keep this blog going for my crazy ex stories. Email me at strugglingforeverafter at gmail or comment below if you are interested in following my new blog incarnations …..

D

2 Comments leave one →
  1. emmymom2 permalink
    July 9, 2013 11:56 pm

    Yes, if you start a new blog let me know I would love to read it. Sorry for the all of the mess and yes crazy that it takes that long.

  2. Jenna permalink
    August 21, 2014 9:08 pm

    I would love to know if you started a new blog.

Leave a Reply

