Skip to content

Picture of ambivalence (or why I am carrying around 3 sets of keys)

April 23, 2013

This is part of the contents of my purse:

20130419-214355.jpg

Yes, three sets of keys…

  1. the keys to the 10 year old two door car… This car doesn’t fit the two car seats, only one. After spending $700 on repairs just three weeks ago, it currently won’t start and is leaking gas. Sigh.
  2. the keys to the “family” car… Hubby took this in the middle of the night last November. I won’t get it back. This ring also contains the house keys – added after hubby moved out.
  3. the keys to my mom’s SUV… On semi permanent loan, Total gas guzzler and comes with a bucket-load of “beholden-ment” (is that a word? It should be!) Items such as demands to immediately clean it up or get a car wash, “I am coming over right now to take my car because a need it to haul something”, guilt and criticism over maintenance concerns, and comments on the expense… My mom try’s to be generous, but she seems to miss the mark.

You can see why I carry them all around.

I mentioned to a friend the other day that maybe I should move the house keys to one of the other rings… But I have been strangely reluctant to do so…

The reality is that my three sets of keys are a symptom of the fact that none of these cars really work for me right now. And it sucks. It really does. I try to keep a cheerful outlook on the whole car thing, since making my life difficult was basically my hubby’s main reason for taking the family car… And in some ways he has totally won with that move. 😦

I am currently looking to see if there is ANY way I can afford a new car… Not sure it will be possible until the alimony payments end. (These are the ones I am paying to my unemployed hubby) UG!

At least it isn’t possible until after our next court date when I find out whether we are getting divorced in July or sometime in 2014.

I am not typically one to give advice to separating or divorcing folks… But here is my words of wisdom… If there is a family car you really need… Buy a club and lock it up! The courts won’t jump on making your spouse return anything…possession is 9/10s of the law. :-(. I can’t imagine how hard my life would be without all of the resources that it have!

D

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

