Skip to content

Making space for the new

February 4, 2013

I had a very productive weekend. It was my husband’s weekend with the kids (not overnight – he just gets day visits 9 to 5:30). So I had time to do what I wanted child-free.

Yesterday, I got into my woodshop and finished up installing my new desk. It would send my buddy Norm Abrams into shock, since my desk is a raw wood – plywood, 2×4’s and drywall screws – a monstrosity… Ugly, not a piece of elegant wood working. But it is working great! And yes, I am going to finish it… So as I figure out what color to paint it … 🙂

I also hung the new closet curtains (made from the old curtain linings). They are, as expected, too short. But only about 12″… I think I might add a patchwork stripe or two? Project for the WIP pile.

I was on such a roll, that I put all my stuff back in my closet (moved when I repainted the room) cleaning out my husband’s old closet. One of the items I found in that closet was a pile of papers, research for a non-profit idea I had about 10 years ago. I looked at them and realized that the day for that dream is long past. I am not that person anymore, and that dream no longer has appeal for me. I let it go… Both literally, by placing the papers in the recycle bin, and mentally, by realizing that I no longer wanted to do that and it was OK!

Flash forward to today… I have been reading Laura Vanderkam’ fascinating book 168 Hours: You have more time than you think. One of her first exercises is to list 100 dreams. I was working on this list (I got to 21 so far) and I started to think about wanting to make a difference in the world. And I had a brain flash. I really want to work on early detection vision problems in kids. After all the struggling my poor daughter has gone thru this last year, I just want to help parent know about this issue that affects 3-5% of children. I have tons of ideas, and am pretty excited about this.

I realized that I wouldn’t have start thinking this way unless I had opened up space the day before by letting go of my old dream.

You need to make space in your life in order to be open to new…

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 6, 2013 3:35 am

    Quite a thought provoking post! An enjoyable one too 🙂
    I hope your new dream/venture goes well & thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Sarah xx

Leave a Reply

