Skip to content

Tuesday’s travails and triumphs

January 29, 2013

I have been thinking about the evolution of this blog. I want it to continue to be a reflection of the issues we have been having as my husband and I adapt to the new separate lives.

But I want this blog to be more…about my quest to remake my life to have much more HAPPY! So…

I have decided to post about my marriage once a week…to document our progress and have a chance to reflect. And in a quest for alliteration I have named this series “Tuesday’s travails and triumphs”… (Here’s to hoping we will have a lot more triumphs than travails…. πŸ™‚ )

Last weekend, my mother-in-law called in sick. (She is the court ordered supervisor for my husband’s visits with the kids). 😦 It was the kid’s weekend with their dad. So that the kids could actually see their dad at least a little, I proposed that we would go to the kids Saturday am classes at the Y, then go out for a early lunch at the nearby donut place. All in all, it was weird and awkward but not horrible. Some notable moments:

  • My husband wandering away after ordering so that I had to pay
  • Noticing my 2 yo son start to pickup my husband’s sandwich… But deciding he can deal with it… πŸ˜‰ (yes, the filling spilled on the floor. ooops!)
  • asking who would go after the kids when they went to the far corner of the restaurant (totally out of sight) and him saying “oh, they will probably get put to work”. Huh?

Strange but ok. It was actually the first time we had been together since the angry “grabbing” incident.

Here to hoping everything stays ok for a while… This lesson has taken me many years to learn: the peace is just temporary. Next time he doesn’t get what he wants, he might blow up again… ( a leopard doesn’t change his spots…. ) The trap is thinking this time it will be different.

Linking up at Shell’s pour your heart out today.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2013 4:55 am

    Oh I can’t imagine. Good for you for putting forth such an effort to let your children see their dad. I can imagine that for you right now strange but ok is probably pretty good.

  2. January 30, 2013 12:26 pm

    You are a better woman than I am, I think. I don’t know much of your story (stopping by for the first time from PYHO) but it sounds like you went through a giant hassle for someone who doesn’t really deserve it. Bravo to you for being a supportive mother to your kids!

  3. January 30, 2013 2:26 pm

    This is my first visit to your blog. It sounds like you have quite a back story. You are a good person… putting your own discomfort aside so your children can have time with their father. My situation was quite different, but I think I can say that if his mother bailed, I would have told my ex to forget it.

  4. January 30, 2013 3:34 pm

    That was nice of you to make an effort so he could still see the kids!

Leave a Reply

