Skip to content

Completion corner

August 7, 2012

Although, my life is still in serious limbo (looks like we will be in divorce court for a temporary ruling in 2-3 weeks), I have been making steps for good in my life.

First, I have found (hopefully!) a social outlet for ME! I joined a quilting/ sewing meetup group. Yeah! Social outlet as well as encouragement to do more craft stuff, which always makes me happy. They typically meet on Sunday afternoon (nap time) and the group has a nice range of ages.

Second, as luck will have it, I mentioned that my current sewing dilemma was …what to do with my unfinished wedding quilt. Another member of the group needed help to finish a quilt of hers.. (both just need to have the binding finished!) So next meeting we are going to have a quilt finishing party. On the seventh anniversary of my wedding shower, the day the quilt was started.

For me, this is going to be a great way to have completion. The quilt really is lovely and has great patches from both sides of our family. It will be a nice thing for my daughter to have. Just because we aren’t going to stay married, our joining resulted in two beautiful children, who should know about the joy of that day and the history of our families.

I am also thinking about finishing up the wedding videos and maybe even doing a wedding photo book. These can be items for my daughter to have even after I take down the wedding items that are currently around the house (mantel, family wall, etc.). I don’t want to erase our wedding from my kids lives. I just need to make it part of the past, not part of the present.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2012 12:53 am

    I absolutely love your approach and attitude.

    A quilting circle is a brilliant way to meet new friends with a common interest! 🙂

  2. August 7, 2012 7:01 am

    Sounds like a great idea. It’s lovely how quilting brings people together in a community for friendship while also making useful things, you meet so many nice and wonderfully creative people this way.

Leave a Reply

