Skip to content

Suitcases at the ready…

July 19, 2012

I was looking for one of my favorite shirts yesterday, I thought to myself… Hmmm… Where is it? Then I remembered it is in the suitcase of clothes over at my sisters house.

I was trying to find certain shorts for my son, and I thought…hmm… Is it in the laundry? Then I remembered it was the bag of emergency clothes on the car.

Why, oh why, you ask, are you stashing clothes in various places?

Court orders and an erratic, angry husband.

I have been plunged into a bad made for tv movie… Not tragic, not trauma, but definitely unpleasant to live thru.

The backstory?: After many YEARS of trying to fix my broken marriage (in which my husband just kept getting worse. Less helpful, less present, more angry), I decide to try a trial separation. I was holding out hope my husband would realize what he stood to lose and make some change. I asked him to move out for a while. He did for a bit (with much anger and yelling). But then a few days later he moved back in and refused to leave… I took the kids to my sisters to keep them out of the conflict.

4 days later, after refusing to go to mediation and refusing to move out, my husband served me with a court order demanding the kids return to the house and demanding that both of us can live there. (oh, yes, he makes sure that cops were standing there when he gave it to me. Nice!)

So, until our divorce court date, I am stuck living with my even more angry husband…

(ps – I don’t believe he will get violent, but I refuse to have the children exposed to the overt anger. I am being safe and my family is coming over when his anger level is not low. My sister has even slept over some nights to keep the peace. We are leaving when he is really angry)

Limbo, suitcases at the ready if needed….

Linking up the Shells Pour your heart out today

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2012 5:55 am

    I am sorry you are in such a difficult, negative situation but it sounds like you have a supportive family and that you have plan sin place should the need arise. Stay strong!

  2. July 19, 2012 11:08 am

    I sounds like a really stressful situation. I’m sorry that you and your kids are having to go through it. I hope it all works out for the best.

  3. July 19, 2012 9:46 pm

    Oh, my goodness. I’m so sorry you are going through this. It sounds like you are being very smart with having things in different locations just in case. My prayers are with you and your family for a quick resolution to all of this.

  4. July 23, 2012 5:50 pm

    I’m sorry you have to go through this. *hugs*

  5. July 26, 2012 5:49 am

    OMG, I’m so sorry you and your children have to go through this. I’ve also been divorced, but luckily we didn’t have kids. I can’t imagine what you’re going through. I admire your bravery. I’m going to be an avid follower.

Leave a Reply

