Skip to content

Small steps for change

August 23, 2011

I have been doing a lot of soul-searching the past couple weeks. 

I decided not to give my husband any sort of “you need to change” document or discussion… that is just more of what I have been doing for the past couple years… and that hasn’t worked, has it?

So I have been doing more of what I have been reading:

  • It is unsexy to put it this way – but I have been trying to be “romantic” with my husband 2x per week. Actually and specifically Tuesday & Friday or Saturday.  Let’s be honest – If it isn’t a scheduled day I will forget and it won’t happen. (That is part of why we are in this mess – at least according to him.)  He doesn’t know I have put this on my mental calendar, but I don’t think he will complain!
  • Working really hard to not whine, complain, be negative, or critical.   This is hard to do!  For example, Right now there is spilled cereal from breakfast on the floor (it is 10pm!)  Just seeing that can send me spiraling into a mental rant.  Once you are in a negative head space it is hard not to be negative with everything you say or think.   
  • I have been doing less.   Leaving the dirty dishes or messes for him to eventually clean up.
  • I have been goofying off and watching the back years of DIY’s blog cabin at night.  (some nights not even reading my emails.)  I don’t know why, but it was a nice change of pace.
  • I have also been thinking about making some changes to our schedule and life.  Some small changes I can make to our routines to get more Happy in my day to day life.  I don’t know if there has been much happy for me in the past couple years. Lots of duty and chores.  Not a lot of happy.   😦     That needs to change.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

