Skip to content

Bad Mama…

June 24, 2011

You know how it can be… you get home and need to eat, feed the kids, straighten up, dishes, laundry, etc, etc…  Then you are working on the house and ignoring the kids.

So I have been making a conscious effort to do activities with the kids.  To actually spend more time playing with them.  Take them for walks. Go outside and hang in the backyard. 

I have been doing pretty good.

Sometimes I go out of my way to to do something special.  I leave work early to go on a outing or do a project.  But If it doesn’t go well…  the kids are winey… they don’t want to do the project… they complain…

I become:

Bad
Mama

I don’t know where she comes from. It is like I am possessed!  

I lecture. I bitch and complain. I find things coming out of my mouth like:

  • Well, you HAD a chance to do X …
  • Too Late
  • To bad you refused or we could have…
  • Maybe next time…
  • If you had behaved

I am talking and I can’t stop.    The voice in my head is like ..!?!?  Why are you saying this your 4 year old?  Just can’t stop myself.

I need to find a way to be disappointed when things don’t go as planned without Bad Mama coming out.  She needs to stay buried… 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 3:32 am

    Oh girl you and me both! Totally have the same voice that is telling me to shut up when I am saying things I can’t believe. I seriously think sometimes I take way too much pleasure in saying “well see I told you so”… so need to get over that. It is hard.
    Thanks for playing along.

  2. June 24, 2011 3:36 pm

    I think that pretty much happens to all of us as moms. It’s hard to let go of the “I told you so” and just try to enjoy the fun. But I think we also put more pressure on it because we know that fun is so limited…and then when things don’t go according to plan, we’ve just wasted our precious time and energy on NOTHING.

    I know the feeling.

    Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

