Skip to content

Money battles

May 14, 2011

My Husband seems to be in denial on our financial situation.  I have shown him the numbers.  I have explained what it means. 

Honey, we only have about $150 in “spending” money after all of our fixed monthly bills. And that needs to pay for gas in the cars and any groceries. For. The. Month.  You can’t spend anything. not a dime.

I brown bag lunch (even to out-of-town clients!)  I pack lunches and snacks for the kids.  I took over his chore of grocery shopping so that I could trim the bills. (Look, this pasta is only $0.79 per pack!  🙂  Comparison shopping is not in his skill set.) 

We even took daughter out of pre-school on Tuesday & Thursday. (Since the preschool expense coupled with Maternity leave expense is the reason for our financial crunch.)

Yesterday, he was talking about something and said “While I am out at my [schedule art thing], I am going to buy [something personal and unneeded that you pay cash for] ”

You took money out of the bank account for that???!?!

Give it back.    [And I held out my hand.]

Really, I did. 

He looked stunned.  He babbled some reason.  I calmly stated that we wouldn’t be able to pay the grocery bill.  He gave me the cash.

Do you think he gets it yet?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 12:46 pm

    Money issues can be SO HARD sometimes, especially after you’ve been used to spending your money however you want. Have you tried maybe making a budget spreadsheet and then showing him the black and white?

  2. May 18, 2011 7:59 pm

    Oh, it’s so hard to be in that situation! My husband doesn’t really get it, either.

  3. May 23, 2011 9:55 am

    We are also scraping the bottom of the barrel until pay-day on Wednesday…then Friday night he wants to know if we should go out (GO EAT OUT) for dinner??? Helloooooooooo

Leave a Reply

