Skip to content

Mark my words…

May 4, 2011

I can’t predict the future, but mark my words, a choking will happen…  I don’t know when, I don’t know on what, but it is going to happen. 

You see my almost 9 mo is now mobile.  He can get anywhere!  And if it is on the floor he is going to put it in his mouth.  (No duh!)

Objects found on the floor this evening: crayons, pen caps, small cars, a Sharpy (Picture THAT in the hand of my 2yo nephew who was over today!!), a ping pong ball, coins, a small yoyo, a couple small plastic bugs, many post-it notes, and a veritable baby all-you-can-eat buffet of cereal, popcorn, and misc food stuff.  

{shaking my head in … disbelief?}   I know “Daddy daycare” is a more relaxed establishment… but…but…but….  come on…

(He also is in denial on the germ theory… repetitive “discussion” in our house goes something like this: 

Me: you left this {insert food here} out all night
Him: that OK, it’s not finished yet. I will finish cooking it up today
Me: but it has been out all night and is filled with germs
Him: Oh, no, I will just cook it and it will be fine. restaurants leave {soup, stock, sauce} out to finish for days…

Let us just leave that cheerful thought at: I don’t want to eat in those restaurants. Ever.)

And oh, yes, while I am at it…bugs.  That All-you-can-eat-baby-buffet? Pretty much a staple around here (until I get home…) He left daughter’s breakfast dishes out in the living room so much last summer that we got ants.  On the SECOND FLOOR.  (How can you get ants on the 2nd floor of a building?!?!?!) 

Different standards folks, different standards.  I won’t even disgust you with a description of the sink (AKA petri-sink).  His solution is a dish bin… not in my life time :-)… oh no. 

Off to do some more cleaning before bed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 3:41 am

    haha, I can help with the restaurant comment … I have worked in two different restaurants for about 4 years (one with lots of soups) and we never left our soups out overnight! I can’t comment too much on messiness because I’m a pretty messy person, but I try to at least keep it in my bedroom, lol. good luck!

  2. May 7, 2011 9:37 pm

    oh, and my advice?Don’t let your kids eat the stuff your husband leaves out all night, don’t worry, he only needs to get food poisoning once to learn to put stuff in the fridge and it’s bound to happen sooner or later!

Leave a Reply

