Skip to content

Early to bed…

April 26, 2011

Mornings have been a total nightmare lately.

See, I use to get up with daughter every morning.  Then I decided husband had to get up 3 days a week (I think I assigned him M,W & F or something…) That was pretty horrible until our therapist at the time, basically told him he should get up without me having to ask, even once.  That was great!  It worked and morning were pleasant and peaceful.

Flash forward, to the family with 2 kids.  Baby boy is breastfeeding and is totally a “breast” boy. Yup, he is 8 mo old weights nearly 16 lbs and STILL eats every 3 hours. All. Night. Long.  (He tried for every 1-2 hours, but I put a stop to that… I walked out of his room and let him cry it out. Loudly.)  But, no one can stand the screaming if I don’t feed him at 3 hours.  (and I mean screaming!)

So, husband has had to get up with the kids EVERY morning for the past 8 months.  Let me tell you, he does get up… eventually.  After girl has asked him to get up about 12 times, cried a couple times and whined for a minimum of 30 minutes.  After I have entertained the boy to prevent him from crying (a sound Husband is imune to) for about 15 min. 

Very peaceful way to “sleep in.” NOT!!!   It is truly horrible and I can’t take it anymore.

I give up.  I am going to bed early and will be getting up with the kids in the morning. 

I am not going to think about fair, I am going to try very hard to just enjoy the morning with my kids!  🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 1:28 am

    Holy hellfire, reading this the only thought in my head was “I would KILL him!”.

    Our 8 month old is still up to feed anything between 3 and 9 times a night so I completely understand how exhausted you must be. In the middle of the night when I am feeding I often feel complete rage about the fact that only I am doing it, but… my husband gets up for our daughter during the night and is happy to take our son for a walk around the house when I’m on the verge of losing my mind. He also gets up with me in the mornings and helps get the kids ready.

    If he didn’t I don’t think our relationship would survive. How you are staying sane and not embedding a screwdriver in his eye, I don’t know.

    • April 28, 2011 11:50 pm

      oh gosh… thank you! He acts like am expecting the imposible, so sometimes I am not sure. I keep thinking that at least he helps SOMETIMES and if I kick him out I will have to do EVERYTHING… 😦 You can see why I have starting blogging.

      • April 29, 2011 12:06 am

        F*ck me sideways Hun… if you left you’d have less work to do. You’d only have your actual kids to look after instead of your kids and your giant lump of a husband AND you’d get every second weekend off while he gets a taste of solo parenthood 😛

        I’m not surprised you need an anonymous outlet!

Leave a Reply

