Skip to content

Why Breastfeeding is hazardous to my mental state

September 24, 2010

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I find myself stewing…  thinking about annoying things and getting myself upset and worked up.  I review the latest irritating things my husband has done (or the things he HASN’T done) and watch my blood pressure rise! Out the window goes any good mood I might have had.

A couple years ago I read a book and it talked about this phenomenon. The jist of it was that all of this stewing really doesn’t serve any purpose besides affecting your mood. You aren’t solving your problems, you are just rehashing them. It recommended paying attention to when you did this stewing.  They said you would find a pattern.  

At the time, I found that driving in the car was my stewing time…  GREAT!  I would show up at work annoyed at the world.  I would show up home at the end of the day pissed off at my husband.  Suffice it to say, this was not a good situation for my mental state.  My solution?   Books on tape.   No more stewing.  Way less bad moods. Saving my marriage one trashy novel or biography at a time.

 Today I realized I am doing the same thing when I am breastfeeding our 6 week old son…  oh… that isn’t good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

